UN – New elected members of the Security Council (6 June 2024)


France congratulates Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama and Somalia on their election to the UN Security Council on June 6.

We will work closely with each of these partners, whose two-year term will begin on January 1, 2025, so that the Security Council can fully exercise the main responsibility with which it is entrusted by the UN Charter: to maintain international peace and security.

France emphasizes its commitment to a rules-based international system, the best guarantee of our collective security and prosperity. As a permanent member of the Security Council, it strives to promote and strengthen multilateralism and the peaceful resolution of disputes.