UN - Election of new non-permanents members of the Security Council (June 7, 2023)


France congratulates Algeria, Guyana, Sierra Leone, Slovenia and South Korea on their June 6th election to the UN Security Council.

It will work closely with each of these partners, whose two-year term will begin on January 1, 2024, to enable the Security Council to fully assume its eminent responsibility to maintain international peace and security in accordance with the UN Charter.

As a permanent member of the Security Council, France reaffirms its commitment to the multilateral system and the peaceful resolution of disputes, at a time when the international community is facing numerous attacks on international security.