UN – Entry of new Security Council members (Jan. 1, 2022)


France congratulates Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates, which will begin their two-year term as members of the UN Security Council tomorrow.

France wishes to work closely with each of these partners and knows it can count on their commitment to ensuring that the Security Council fully embraces its eminent responsibility to maintain international peace and security.

On this occasion, France applauds the remarkable job done by Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam as Security Council members during the 2020-2021 term.