Symbols of the Republic


The main symbols of the Republic share the same revolutionary origins.

The national motto "Liberty, Equality, Fraternity", the July 14th national holiday, the national anthem, the Marseillaise, the three-coloured flag, and Marianne were born symbolically at the time of the French Revolution. They represented a break from the Old Regime and its symbols ("fleur de lys", white and gold flag, etc.). As for the cockerel, its association with French symbolism comes from the Latin Gallus, which means both cockerel and Gaul.