UN – Entry of new Security Council members (5 Jan. 2020)


France congratulates Estonia, Niger, Saint-Vincent-and-the-Grenadines, Tunisia, and Vietnam, which began their two-year terms as members of the UN Security Council on January 1.

France will be delighted to work closely with each of these countries on all the topics dealt with by this body, whose principal responsibility under the UN Charter is international peace and security.

On this occasion, France hails the work achieved by Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru, and Poland, which served as members of the Security Council during the 2018-2019 term.