United Nations – Election of non-permanent members of the Security Council (7 June 2019)


France congratulates Estonia, Niger, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam on their election as non-permanent members of the Security Council for the 2020-2021 period.

It looks forward to working very closely with these countries within the Security Council, which has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

France reaffirms its attachment to multilateralism and to the peaceful settlement of disputes. More than ever, the Security Council needs the effective and reliable efforts of its members to address these challenges.