United Nations – Accession of new members to the Security Council (2 January 2019)


France congratulates South Africa, Germany, Belgium, Indonesia and the Dominican Republic, which began their two-year terms as members of the Security Council yesterday.

It expresses its willingness to work with each of them and is counting on their commitment to ensure that the Security Council fully assumes its crucial responsibility to maintain international peace and security.

France takes this opportunity to pay tribute to the work carried out by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden as members of the Security Council during the 2017-2018 term, as well as by the Netherlands in 2018.