United Nations – New members of the UN Security Council (2 January 2018)


France congratulates Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, the Netherlands, Poland and Peru on joining the UN Security Council on January 1, 2018. This demonstrates the commitment of these countries to peacekeeping and international security.

As a permanent member of the Security Council, France reaffirms its deep attachment to the multilateral system and to the peaceful settlement of disputes, while the international community continues to face numerous regional crises and urgent threats.

We hope that the close and trusting working relations with these new partners will make it possible to effectively address these.

We would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to the outstanding work carried out by Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay as non-permanent members of the Security Council during the 2016-2017 biennium, as well as by Italy in 2017.