United Nations – Security Council – Election of non-permanent members (June 29, 2016)


France congratulates Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Sweden on their election as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for a period of two years from January 1, 2017.

We welcome the conclusion of an agreement between Italy and the Netherlands, which should be endorsed today in New York and will allow each of them to hold seats for a period of one year.

We will work very closely with these countries on all issues that fall within the competence of the Security Council, which plays a key role in ensuring international peace and security.