Arms Trade Treaty – Entry into force (September 26, 2014)


France welcomes the recent ratification of the Arms Trade Treaty by Argentina, the Bahamas, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Portugal, the Czech Republic, St. Lucia, Senegal and Uruguay, making it possible to reach the threshold of 50 ratifications needed for the entry into force of the treaty, now scheduled for December 24, 2014.

This is a historic step. Less than two years after being adopted by the UN, the Arms Trade Treaty has been signed by 121 states, 53 of which have ratified it.

France ratified this treaty on April 2, 2014, and believes that its entry into force will allow more effective regulation of the legal arms trade and will strengthen the fight against illicit trafficking. Its effective implementation in all regions of the world is essential, especially in those regions most affected by the trafficking of small arms and light weapons.

We call on all states that have not yet done so to ratify or sign the treaty as soon as possible. In this regard, we welcome the recent signing of the treaty by Georgia, Namibia and Ukraine.