International Court of Justice



Web site:

Charter of the United Nations (Chapter XIV) signed in San Francisco on 26 June 1945 and Statute of the Court (which is an integral part of it) - Succeeded the Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Hague (Netherlands)

The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). Its role is to settle, in accordance with international law, the legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized UN organs and specialized institutions.

15 judges elected for 9 years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council.
President (since 6 February 2009): Hisashi Owada (Japan)
Vice-President (since 6 February 2009): Peter Tomka (Slovakia)
French Member: Ronny Abraham (since 15 February 2005; re-elected on 6 February 2009)
It is assisted by the Registry, its permanent administrative organ.

Official languages:
French and English.

Updated on : 07.01.11