Court of Justice of the European Union



Web site:


  • 1951: Establishment of the ECSC Court of Justice, replaced in 1957 by the Court of Justice of the European Communities
  • 1988: Establishment of the Court of First Instance of the European Communities
  • 2004: Establishment of the Civil Service Tribunal of the European Union


The Court has 27 Judges (one per Member State) and 8 Advocates General, appointed by common accord for a renewable term of 6 years by the Member State governments.

The General Court also has 27 Judges (one per Member State), appointed in the same way.
The Civil Service Tribunal has 7 Judges, appointed by the Council by a unanimous decision.

Court of Justice: Vassilios Skouris (GR)
General Court: Marc Jaeger (Lux)
Civil Service Tribunal: Paul Mahoney (UK)

French Judges:
Court of Justice: Jean-Claude Bonichot
General Court: Laurent Truchot
Civil Service Tribunal: Stéphane Gervasoni
French Advocate General at the Court of Justice: Yves Bot

Governing law:
Treaty on the European Union and Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, secondary legislation adopted by the European Union institutions (regulations, directives and decisions).

State Parties:
European Union Member States (27)

Updated on : 25.03.11