EU – Presentation of the Louise Weiss Prize for European Journalism by Harlem Désir (Paris, March 23, 2017)


Harlem Désir, Minister of State for European Affairs, will present the Louise Weiss Prize for European Journalism on March 23 at 7:00pm at the Quai d’Orsay.

It was created in 2005 by the French section of the Association of European Journalists with the active support of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development and is aimed at encouraging journalists to provide more in-depth and more instructional coverage of European issues.

It pays tribute to Louise Weiss (1893-1983), a committed journalist and European, who worked on pioneering projects to promote peace, French-German rapprochement and European unity.

This year’s winners are as follows:

  • News report category: Franck Mathevon, for his documentary: “Brexit, les partisans du divorce” [“Brexit: the proponents of divorce”] (France Inter, June 2016);
  • Analysis category: Marion Van Renterghem, for her series of six articles on Angela Merkel (Le Monde, August-September, 2016);
  • Young journalist category: Clémentine Athanasiadis, for her report “Retour simple pour la Syrie” [One-way return for Syria] (Society magazine, September 2016);
  • Special Jury Award presented by the Association of European Journalists: Stéphane Horel, for his series of investigations into the handling of the endocrine disruptors case, “Histoire secrète d’un scandale” [Secret history of a scandal] (published in Le Monde and other publications in May 2016).