EU – Presentation of Louise Weiss Prize for European Journalism by Nathalie Loiseau (Paris, March 27)


European Affairs Minister Nathalie Loiseau is presenting the Louise Weiss Prize for European Journalism at the Quai d’Orsay on March 27 at 6:30 P.M.

Created in 2005 by the French section of the Association of European Journalists with the active support of the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs, this prize aims to encourage journalists to provide more in-depth coverage of European issues.

It is awarded in recognition of Louise Weiss (1893-1983), a committed journalist and European, who worked on pioneering projects in support of peace, French-German rapprochement, and European unity.

This year’s winners are:

  • In the News Reporting category: Charles Haquet for “Balkans, l’ombre salafiste” (L’Express, May 2017)
  • In the Analysis category: Elisa Perrigueur for her investigative reporting in “Passage des mers” (Mediapart, 2017)
  • In the Young Journalist category: Joël Le Pavous for his report “Komloska, paradis fiscal hongrois” (, 2017).

The 2018 Louise Weiss Prize is dedicated to the memory and the work of the Maltese journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia, murdered on October 16, 2017, and the Slovak reporter Ján Kuciak, murdered on February 25, 2018.