African Union – South Africa assumes chairmanship of the African Union (9 February 2020)


South African President Cyril Ramaphosa assumed the chairmanship of the African Union at the 33rd African Union Summit which took place in Addis Ababa from February 9 to 10.

France congratulates South Africa, a country with which it maintains a strategic dialogue. It reaffirms its determination to continue and to intensify its cooperation with the African Union in accordance with the declaration of intent on cooperation between France and the African Union Commission of June 8, 2018, and within the framework of the partnership between the European Union and the African Union.

France stands ready to support the progress made possible by the 33rd African Union Summit in the area of economic and trade integration with the African Continental Free Trade Area, with respect to the energy transition with the Africa Renewable Energy Initiative and in the area of peace and security in Africa with the continent’s commitment to addressing crises, notably in the Sahel and Libya.