United Nations – Admission of new Security Council members (1st January 2020)


France congratulates India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway, which are starting their two-year terms as members of the UN Security Council today.

France looks forward to working closely with each of these partners and is counting on their commitment to help ensure that the UN Security Council fully assumes its crucial responsibility to maintain international peace and security.

France takes this opportunity to pay tribute to the outstanding efforts of South Africa, Germany, Belgium, Indonesia and the Dominican Republic as members of the Security Council during the 2019-2020 term.