Quick access :

Madagascar – Candidates for the presidential election (May 6, 2013)

France was disappointed to learn of the Special Elections Court’s decision to approve the candidacy of Mr. Andry Rajoelina for the presidential election in Madagascar, as well as candidacies of Ms. Lalao Ravalomanana and Mr. Didier Ratsiraka.

Mr. Rajoelina’s candidacy breaches the solemn pledge made by the transition president on January 15, 2013, not to stand as a candidate in Madagascar’s presidential election, in accordance with the recommendations of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). France fully shares the SADC’s regret expressed by the President of Tanzania, Jakaya Kikwete.

We urge all political players in Madagascar to uphold the commitments made to the SADC, whose mediation efforts France supports, in order to preserve the chances of successfully implementing the road map for the transition.



All rights reserved - French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development - 2016